tawk.to alternatives: is tawk.to free, and which free or paid tools beat it?
tawk.to is the default free live chat for millions of small websites, and for good reason. This guide is for owners who are using it, or about to, and wonder whether another free tool gives more, or whether it is time to pay for something that answers when nobody is online.
Quick answer
Yes, tawk.to's live chat is free, with paid add-ons: $29 a month to remove its branding and AI Assist from $29 a month. Free alternatives include Zoho SalesIQ (three operators, 100 chats a month), Chatwoot (two agents, 500 conversations), Tidio and Crisp. If you need AI answers and bookings on WhatsApp too, ReplyKit starts at $29 a month.
Is tawk.to really free?
Yes. tawk.to's live chat software is free forever, with no time limit and no stated cap on agents or chats. It earns money from optional add-ons and services, not from the chat itself.
What tawk.to's pricing page listed in October 2026:
| Item | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Live chat and the core product | Free | The core product, "free forever" |
| Remove branding | $29 a month | Hides "Powered by tawk.to" on your widget |
| AI Assist | From $29 a month | AI that replies from your data sources; a limited free tier for low-volume sites |
| Hired chat agents | $1 an hour | Trained people who answer your chats around the clock |
| Virtual assistants | From $7 an hour | Admin and back-office tasks |
Its features page also shows WhatsApp and email feeding one shared inbox. For a website where someone is around to reply, it is very hard to beat on price. Our ReplyKit vs tawk.to page compares it directly with an AI agent.
Why look past tawk.to if it costs nothing?
Because free live chat only works while a person is watching. The common reasons we hear:
- Nobody is online after hours. Visitors who arrive in the evening see an offline form. Many leave rather than fill it in. Our guide to after-hours customer service covers the alternatives.
- The branding. Removing it costs $29 a month, which is $348 a year for something you thought was free.
- AI is an add-on. Answering automatically from your content is a separate paid product beyond the free low-volume tier.
- Customers are on WhatsApp, not your website. For many service businesses, most enquiries never touch the site.
Free tawk.to alternatives: what each free plan really allows
Every vendor below has a free plan, but the limits vary widely. Checked on each vendor's pricing page in October 2026.
| Tool | People on the free plan | Chat limit | AI on the free plan | Catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| tawk.to | No stated cap | No stated cap | Limited free AI Assist for low volume | Branding unless you pay $29 |
| Zoho SalesIQ | 3 operators | 100 chats a month | None listed | 10,000 visitors a month tracked |
| Chatwoot Hacker | 2 agents | 500 conversations a month | None | Live chat only, 30 days of history |
| Tidio Free | 10 seats | 50 billable conversations | 50 Lyro conversations, once | Low conversation cap |
| Crisp Free | 2 seats | 100 customer profiles | None | Small contact limit |
| HubSpot free tools | 2 users | Not stated | Limited bot features | HubSpot branding on chat |
| Smartsupp Free | 1 operator | 25 conversations a month | None; Mira AI is paid | Very low cap |
| JivoChat Free | Small team (the page gives two different caps) | Not stated | None | Free channels are Telegram, Facebook, Instagram and Viber |
The honest takeaway: for a free plan with many agents and no chat cap, tawk.to is still the most generous. The alternatives win on other things, such as AI, a cleaner inbox or a CRM, usually once you pay. Our roundup of free AI chatbots for websites covers the AI side in more depth.
Eight tawk.to alternatives in detail
Paid prices from each vendor's page, October 2026. We make ReplyKit, so weigh our view accordingly.
Zoho SalesIQ
Best for: businesses on Zoho, or anyone who wants visitor tracking. Basic is $10 per operator a month ($7 billed yearly) and adds WhatsApp and Zia AI agents. Pros: low paid price, strong visitor insight. Cons: Zoho's settings take time to learn.
Chatwoot
Best for: anyone who wants to own the software. Free cloud plan for two agents, or self-host the MIT-licensed core. Startups is $19 per agent with all channels and 300 Captain AI credits a month. Pros: open source, all channels on paid plans. Cons: self-hosting needs technical skills.
Tidio
Best for: online stores. Starter is $24.17 a month billed yearly for 100 conversations; Lyro AI from $32.50 for 50 AI conversations. Pros: polished, Shopify-friendly. Cons: AI priced per conversation. See Tidio alternatives.
Crisp
Best for: small teams that want a shared inbox at one flat price. Mini is $45 a month for four seats with a small AI credit; Essentials is $95 for ten seats with the AI chatbot. Our Crisp alternatives page covers its pricing in detail.
HubSpot
Best for: businesses that want chat tied to a free CRM. Free for two users with HubSpot branding; paid Service Hub seats from $20 a month. Pros: CRM included. Cons: AI agent needs the Professional tier.
Smartsupp
Best for: European online shops. Solo is $17 a month billed yearly for one operator with unlimited conversations; Plus is $25 for three operators. Live chat, WhatsApp, Messenger and email in one place. The Mira AI agent is $16 a month billed yearly for 100 AI conversations.
JivoChat
Best for: teams that want many messaging apps in one place. Paid plans start at $28 per agent a month billed yearly; WhatsApp needs Professional ($42) and a $27 a month WhatsApp add-on; the AI Agent is $69 per agent a month. Pros: broad channel list. Cons: per-agent pricing adds up.
ReplyKit
Best for: service businesses that want an AI to answer and book on WhatsApp and the website. No free plan, but a 7-day trial with no card. $29, $49 or $99 a month with AI replies included. Details below.
The $29 question: pay tawk.to for add-ons or switch?
Many owners hit the same decision point: tawk.to is free, but the two things they want next, no branding and AI answers, are $29 a month each. Here is a simple way to decide.
- If you only mind the branding: paying tawk.to $29 is the simplest fix; switching tools to save $29 rarely pays back your setup time.
- If you want AI answers on your website only: compare tawk.to AI Assist from $29 with Smartsupp's Mira AI at $16 for 100 conversations and Tidio Lyro from $32.50 for 50. Test each on your real questions during a trial.
- If most enquiries arrive on WhatsApp: a website chat tool, free or not, answers the smaller channel. Put the AI where the messages are.
- If you want both add-ons: that is $58 a month on tawk.to. At that point compare with tools that include AI in one price.
For a fuller view of human chat versus AI on a website, see live chat versus an AI chat widget.
Where ReplyKit fits for tawk.to users
ReplyKit is worth testing if the reason you are leaving tawk.to is that nobody answers out of hours, or your customers prefer WhatsApp. One line of code adds a website assistant with its own instructions and knowledge, and the same AI answers WhatsApp. It answers from your website, PDFs and price lists, captures leads with name, need, budget and timing, and books real slots with a reminder about 24 hours before. When a chat needs you, you are notified and can take over in one click. See the three plans.
WhatsApp connects with Quick Connect, a QR pairing that links your number as a device in about two minutes. It is unofficial, not the WhatsApp Business API, and a number can be restricted. You see one plain notice, and pressing Connect accepts section 3 of our Terms. Replies are capped per number (30 an hour and 200 a day by default), and we recommend a dedicated number.
Stay on tawk.to if you are happy for people to answer and you want no monthly bill; nothing here beats free for that. Choose Chatwoot or JivoChat if you need email, Instagram or Telegram in one inbox, which ReplyKit does not do. If you want after-hours answers and bookings, start a free 7-day trial.
Frequently asked questions
Is tawk.to free?
Yes. tawk.to's live chat is free forever with no stated limit on agents or chats. Optional add-ons cost extra, including $29 a month to remove branding and AI Assist from $29 a month, with a limited free AI tier for low-volume sites.
How does tawk.to make money if it is free?
From paid add-ons and services: branding removal, AI Assist, hired chat agents at $1 an hour and virtual assistants from $7 an hour. The core live chat stays free.
What is the best free tawk.to alternative?
Zoho SalesIQ's free plan gives three operators and 100 chats a month, and Chatwoot's free plan gives two agents and 500 conversations a month. For many agents with no chat cap, tawk.to itself remains the most generous free option.
Is there a tawk.to alternative with free AI?
Tidio's free plan includes 50 Lyro AI conversations once, and tawk.to has a limited free AI Assist tier. Ongoing AI at real volume is paid on every tool we checked.
Can tawk.to connect to WhatsApp?
tawk.to's features page shows WhatsApp among the channels that feed its shared inbox. Check the setup in your dashboard, as channel details are not priced on the pricing page.
How much does it cost to remove tawk.to branding?
$29 a month, according to tawk.to's pricing page in October 2026. If you keep the branding, the live chat stays free.
Answer website and WhatsApp visitors when nobody is online
Add the website assistant with one line of code and connect a dedicated WhatsApp number. 7-day free trial, 300 AI replies, no credit card.
Sources and further reading
- tawk.to, Pricing · free core product, branding removal, AI Assist, hired agents
- tawk.to, Features · channels feeding the shared inbox, AI Assist description
- Zoho, SalesIQ pricing · free plan limits and operator prices
- Chatwoot, Pricing · Hacker and Startups plans
- Tidio, Pricing · free plan limits, Starter and Lyro
- Crisp, Pricing · Free, Mini and Essentials plans
- HubSpot, Service Hub pricing · free tools and Starter seats
- Smartsupp, Pricing · Free, Solo and Plus plans and Mira AI
- JivoChat, Pricing · plans, WhatsApp add-on and AI Agent
ReplyKit is an independent product and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Meta or WhatsApp, or by tawk.to or any other vendor named here. Prices for other vendors are taken from their public pricing pages as checked in October 2026 and may change. This article is general guidance, not financial advice.